By madgett on September 6, 2012
As you probably know, full-text documents have been unavailable from ERIC for a few weeks now. Here’s the story… “In early August we discovered that sensitive personally identifiable information appeared in some full text documents contained in the ERIC collection. Specifically, social security numbers and other highly sensitive information were found in multiple documents and […]
Read More | No Comments
By madgett on August 16, 2012
Two trials for Medical resources are underway right now. DynaMed : …is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically -organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, DynaMed provides the latest content and resources with validity, relevance and convenience, making DynaMed an […]
Read More | No Comments
By madgett on August 2, 2012
Thinking about how you can prepare for next year’s Robbie Burn’s Day? (He’ll be 254 on January 25th). Well, take a look at the National Library of Scotland’s Digital Gallery Covering everything from “The origins of golf … a matter of mystery and controversy” to “The life, work and legacy of Scotland’s Bard…” There are […]
Read More | No Comments
By madgett on July 3, 2012
“Nineteenth Century Collections Online is the most ambitious scholarly digitization and publication program ever undertaken, providing searchable content from a wide range of primary sources for the “long” 19th century. At all stages of development, Gale sought the guidance and feedback of professionals and end-users to ensure that we were selecting, digitizing and preserving unique, […]
Read More | No Comments
By madgett on June 20, 2012
This just in… “CANCELLATION NOTICE: Please be advised that due to funding constraints, UBC Library and the Office of Research Services will be cancelling their jointly-funded subscription to the COS Research Support Suite (comprising COS Funding Opportunities; COS Funding Alerts; COS Papers Invited; COS Scholar Universe; and COS Pivot, formerly COS Expertise). The final day […]
Read More | No Comments
By madgett on May 11, 2012
Thank you for your patience while we worked on the recent problem with RefWorks & EZproxy. A fix was initiated yesterday, and so far it’s looking good. Thanks Joerg & the LSIT crew! Please try the following if you are off campus and want to access your RefWorks Account: clear the cache & cookies from […]
Read More | No Comments
By madgett on May 1, 2012
Just a heads up about several new JSTOR resources we have added over the last little while: Aluka: African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes — “African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes includes spatial, visual, and contextual documentation of heritage and rock art sites throughout Africa.” –Aluka Aluka: Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa — “Struggles […]
Read More | No Comments
By madgett on May 1, 2012
Scholar’s Portal (the platform for RefWorks, ITER eBooks and perhaps a few other resources) is going down for maintenance on May 4th at 9:00pm for about 4 hours (1:00am May 5th). Sorry for the inconvenience.
Read More | No Comments
By madgett on March 27, 2012
*UPDATE* Databases are back!!* Per EBSCO: “Due to routine maintenance currently underway, we are experiencing temporary service interruptions for EBSCOhost… We apologize for this inconvenience and assure you that our engineering team is working on this top priority to restore service as soon as possible.” Stay tuned.
Read More | No Comments
By madgett on March 22, 2012
**UPDATE** The time is nigh! We’ve had some disappear already. The Catalogue should be updated early April. On the heels of University of Toronto Press pulling ebooks from the Canadian Publishers Collection on ebrary, three other university presses are pulling their ebooks: McGill-Queen’s University Press Wilfred Laurie University Press University of British Columbia Press The […]
Read More | No Comments
